Summit of Sustainability Announces Award Winners

  • Home -
  • Press Room -
  • Summit of Sustainability Announces Award Winners


Summit of Sustainability Announces Award Winners

Luncheon, October 25, 2012 at The University of Akron


Akron, Ohio- This is the inaugural year for the countywide awards program that will showcase the best examples of commercial energy efficiency, waste reduction and involvement of employees in three categories: companies with over 250 employees, companies with 249 employees or less and nonprofits. The Summit of Sustainability awards program will culminate in an awards luncheon on Thursday, October 25, 2012 at The University of Akron’s Student Center Ballroom. Tickets are on sale for $25 each or a table of eight for $250 at Tickets include a University parking pass. Registration is at 11:30 a.m., luncheon and program begin at 12 noon.


Twenty-five applications were received and the winners were selected by a panel of esteemed judges.  The 2012 Summit of Sustainability winners are:


Companies with over 250 employees: Bridgestone Americas

Companies with 249 employees or less: Visual Marking Systems,

Sustainable Green Printing Partnership

Nonprofit: Akron Zoological Park


To be sustainable is to balance economic, environmental and social concerns, and to think about how actions taken today will affect future generations. It is also about helping our community save energy and money, create more transportation choices, preserve clean air and bring economic prosperity through the process. This awards program will reveal best sustainable business practices going on within our community and will showcase the winners for others to emulate. Plan to attend the luncheon to support the three winners and view the videos created to showcase how these organizations are setting the bar.


The founding members: City of Akron, County of Summit, Keep Akron Beautiful, the Greater Akron Chamber and the Summit Akron Solid Waste Management Authority, need to thank their partners, the generous sponsors who have stepped forward to launch this awards program that will provide local sustainable mentors for businesses and nonprofits as we work together to be more responsible stewards of our shared environment:


Sustainable Champions - METRO RTA and Sterling Jewelers Inc.                                                                         

Conservation Leaders - Dominion Foundation, FirstEnergy Foundation, The University of Akron, River Valley Paper Company, Smart Business Network Inc., Hasenstab Architects, Inc. and Greenstar Recycling

Resource Guardian - Affinity Consultants, Inc.

Media Sponsors - The Summit-91.3FM, Smart Business magazine and Lockett Media


The expert panels of judges for the awards competition were: Dr. Nicholas Zingale, Faculty Member, Cleveland State University, Dr. Stacy Willet, Faculty Member, The University of Akron, Sam Rubens, Administrator, Akron Regional Air Quality Management District, Robert Marshall, AIA, Principal, Robert Marshall Architecture and Michele Kilroy, LEED AP, Executive Director of the Northeast Ohio Chapter of the USGBC.